All Articles

Texas Farm Credit Announces 2022 Election Results

Farmer and young son working on the farm
Hand placing ballot in wooden box

Texas Farm Credit thanks all who voted in this year’s Board of Directors elections. Ballots were tabulated by an independent third party – public accounting firm Henry & Peters, P.C. in Tyler, TX – and the results have been certified and provided to the Association.

We appreciate your contribution to help strengthen our co-op, and are pleased to announce that the following stockholders were elected to the Board of Directors.

Board of Directors Election Results

Region 1, Position 2: Jerry Chappell

Headshot of Jerry Chappell

Mr. Chappell resides in Lyford, Texas, and is a Partner in Chappell Farms, a family partnership. They primarily farm cotton and grain. Mr. Chappell serves on the Willacy County Farm Bureau, which is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting, protecting, and representing the interests of US farmers. He also serves on the Texas Boll Weevil Eradication Lower Rio Grande Valley Steering Committee, which is a liaison between cotton producers of the Lower Rio Grande Valley and the Boll Weevil Eradication Foundation, is a Director for the Rio Grande Valley CCA, which promotes conservation of coastal sport fisheries, is a member of the Rio Grande Valley IPM Steering Committee, which promotes the integrated pest management to farmers of the Rio Grande Valley, and is a Director for the Appraisal Review Board, which is a decision making body that issues determinations of statutorily-authorized protests and challenges brought by property owners and taxing units. He has been a member of our Farm Credit association’s board since May 2013 and serves on both the audit and compensation committee.

Region 2, Position 1: Mark Reus

Headshot of Mark Reus

Mr. Reus lives in Hondo, Texas where he serves as the managing partner for Reus Grain, LP, a family operation. Reus Grain, LP cleans and process grains for bagging and bulk deliver to wholesale and retail customers for deer and wildlife feeding. He has been a member of our Farm Credit association’s board since August 2018 and serves on both the audit and compensation committee.

Region 3, Position 2: Bobby Hobson

Headshot of Bobby Hobson

Mr. Hobson is a resident of Nacogdoches County. He is the owner/operator of a 17-house broiler farm with a 350,000-bird capacity. He also runs a cow calf operation on 1,000 acres of owned and leased land as well as operates a custom hay bailing business with his brother, Larry Hobson. Mr. Hobson is President of the Douglass ISD School board and serves as chairman on the Nacogdoches County Soil and Water Conservation Board, which manages the quality of water and soil in Nacogdoches County. He has been a member of our association’s board since January 2008 and serves on the compensation committee.

Nominating Committee

In addition, the following stockholders were elected to serve on the 2023 Texas Farm Credit Nominating Committee:

Region 1:

  • Daniel Prukop
  • Billie D. Simpson
  • Hunter Wilde
  • Alternate: Raul Reyes

Region 2:

  • Tommy Foster
  • Alton Koenning, Jr.
  • Jim Massey, IV
  • Alternate: John Callaway

Region 3:

  • Glenn Brandt
  • Brent Hargrave
  • Allen Kaminski
  • Alternate: Jason Boldt

Region 4:

  • Kaci Cecil-Temples
  • Rex Claxton
  • Jerry Moody
  • Alternate: Will Mixon

Alternates at Large:

  • Tom Paben
  • Daniel Wendland

Meet our entire Board of Directors and learn how you run for a director or nominating committee position by watching this informative video.

Boy wearing a cowboy hat leading a cow

We Are Texas Farm Credit

As part of the nationwide Farm Credit System, we are here for rural communities from the Red River to the Rio Grande Valley. Find out more about who we are and how we serve our members.

Read Our Story